Make your own free website on

Click here to go to the main page

Groningen (Gr)

Capital of the province with the same name.






The Martinikerk is a part Romanogothic, part Gothic church with a tall Gothic tower which has become the ultimate symbol of the city. The church was once the cathedral of the short-lived diocese of Groningen, but has been in protestant hands ever since 1594.

Location: Martinikerkhof 3







The Der Aa-kerk, or simply A-kerk, is a Gothic church that in catholic times was dedicated to Mary and St. Nicolaas. An originally Romanogothic church was rebuilt into a Gothic one, of which the tower and part of the nave collapsed in 1710, after which these parts were replaced by the current, colourful tower.

Location: A-Kerkhof 2





The Heiligen Geest Convent was founded as a hospital before 1267. Its purpose was to nurse the diseased, to shelter travellers as well as to see to it that these people attended their religious duties, for which the hospital had its own chapel. After 1628, when the convent had been protestant property for over 30 years, only old people were housed here. The picture shows the much modified chapel.

Location: Pelsterstraat 43






The Nieuwe Kerk ('new church') or Noorderkerk, finished in 1665, is more or less a copy of the Noorderkerk in Amsterdam, which in its time was often considered to be the perfect protestant church. The version in Groningen is smaller but taller than the one in Amsterdam.

Location: Nieuwe Kerkhof 1






In 1694-1696 a Lutheran church was built. It was a hidden church, located at some distance from the road. In 1874 this building in Eclectic style was built in front of it. The swan in the gable is the symbol of Lutheranism.

Location: Haddingerstraat 23






The mennonite church is a building in simple neo-Classical style from 1815. It lies at some distance from the road as it is probably the successor of a hidden church. The mennonites had churches at the same location since 1695.

Location: Oude Boteringestraat 33






The remonstrant church is a building by architect H. Raammaker. Built in 1883, it is a rather late example of a church in neo-Classical style.

Location: Coehoornsingel 14






The Roman Catholic St. Jozef's church dates from 1886-1887 and was designed by P.J.H. Cuypers with the assistance of his son Jos Cuypers. In 1980 this neo-Gothic church became the cathedral of the Groningen diocese.

Location: Radesingel 4






The former Gereformeerde Zuiderkerk ('southern church', 'Gereformeerde' refers to a branch of Calvinism) was designed by Tj. Kuipers in cooperation by Y. van der Veen and was built in 1900-1901. It was one of the first churches by Kuipers that featured Rationalistic influences. In 1984 the building was rebuilt into apartments.

Location: Stationsstraat 12






Another design by Tj. Kuipers and Y. van der Veen is the synagogue from 1905-1906. It features a finely decorated facade in Rationalistic style mixed with Moresque influences.

Location: Folkingestraat 60






The Gereformeerde Noorderkerk dates from 1920 and was designed by A.W. Kuiler and L. Drewes. It is a peculiar building in a Romanesque-inspired style with a cloverleaf-shaped ground-plan.

Location: Akkerstraat 28






The same Kuiler and Drewes designed the Gereformeerde Oosterkerk which was built in 1927-1929. Again it's a remarkable building, but this time in Expressionist style.

Location: Rosensteinlaan 23






The St. Franciscus of AssisiŽ is a catholic church built in 1933, designed by H.C. van de Leur in the Expressionist style of his former employer Dom Bellot.

Zaagmuldersweg 67


Back to the Province of Groningen